AZTWS Award Announcements

Deadline for Award Nominations is November 30th

Do you know of a wildlife professional, student, or organization that deserves recognition for their work? Please nominate them for one of our awards!
We present these awards in order to recognize those individuals and organizations that make significant contributions to wildlife management and conservation in Arizona. These awards are significant because of the history and prestige behind each one – and because they come from you. This is your chance to give credit to some of the many deserving people and organizations out there.

Final nomination documents must be received by November 30, 2019.

  • Submit your nominations to Andrew Jones

Awards will be presented at our Joint Annual Meeting in Prescott, AZ on January 30th—February 1st, 2020

WE NEED YOU to submit a nomination for one or more of the eight awards (details below).
Award nominations should include the following:

  1. Name and affiliation of the nominee (nominees need not be members of TWS or the AZ Chapter).
  2. The award for which the individual is being nominated.
  3. Letter of support signed by nominator and endorsed by at least one additional individual. Endorsers may sign the nominating letter or send separate letters of support.
  4. Name and contact information of nominator(s).
    Visit here to view past recipients of each award.

Award Descriptions:

  • The Doug Morrison Award
    • This award is given in memory of Doug Morrison to an Arizona Biologist in a non-supervisory position who has made significant contributions to the management and conservation of wildlife in Arizona. This Award exemplifies the dedicated work ethic of the Chapter’s former President and U.S. Forest Service Biologist, Doug Morrison. Contributions can be in areas of wildlife research, education and training, management, conservation (including legislation), or law enforcement. Contributions can be over a relatively short period of time (e.g., months) or over several years. Weight is given to the significance of contributions and not necessarily the number of years in service. This Award differs from the Professional Award primarily in that it is given to a non-supervisory biologist in memory of Doug Morrison.
  • Professional Service Award (Professional Wildlifer Award)
    • This award is given to an Arizona biologist for outstanding contributions to management and conservation of wildlife. The individual is also recognized for their professional work standards and conduct. Contributions can be in the areas of wildlife research, education and training, management, conservation (including legislative), or law enforcement. These contributions can be over several years or limited to a few years of outstanding service. Weight is given to the significance of contributions and professional work ethic, not necessarily the number of years in service. Both supervisory and non-supervisory biologists may be considered for this Award.
  • Conservation Award (Non-Professional Award)
    • This award is given to a person, or persons, not employed directly as a wildlife biologist, or an organization not directly involved in wildlife management (including researchers at universities), who contribute significantly to the conservation of wildlife and/or their habitat in Arizona. Conservation can include, but is not limited to research, education, legislation, and protection or enhancement of wildlife and their habitat. Weight is given to the significance of the contribution to conservation.
  • Wildlife Habitat Relationships Award (WILDHARE Award)
    • This award is given to a professional wildlife biologist in Arizona for their contribution to understanding or applying habitat principles to management of an animal species or group of species. The recipient receives a check based on the interest generated for the year in the Habitat Relationships account.
  • Scrapping Bear Award
    • The recipient of the Scrapping Bear Award has gone beyond the normal call of duty in support of wildlife issues and has made exceptional contributions toward the management and protection of wildlife and habitat resources AND the recipient has stood up for what they thought was right, even if it was controversial or perceived as contrary to their agency’s official position, supervisor’s positions, or had the potential to put the recipients job on the line. The recipient does not have to be a member of the Arizona Chapter.
  • Roger Hungerford Student Award
    • This award is given to a student who while attending an Arizona college or university made significant contributions to the management and conservation of Arizona’s wildlife and/or habitat. Management and conservation categories are similar to those listed for the Professional Award. Weight is given to the significance of the contribution. The Award is given in memory of one of Arizona’s finest research biologists, Roger Hungerford.
  • Outstanding Service to the Chapter Award
    • This award recognizes an individual who has shown continual dedication and commitment to the Chapter. The award recipient has expended significant time and effort while providing exceptional service to the Chapter and its members. This individual must be a Chapter member.
  • David E. Brown Lifetime Achievement Award
    • The creation of this award in 2016 was inspired by the desire to recognize a lifetime of work devoted to wildlife on par with David E. Brown’s lifetime accomplishments, which were exceptional and beyond the scope of existing Chapter awards. Therefore, a new award was created. The David E. Brown Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes an individual for his/her accomplishments in wildlife biology and management over their lifetime. These accomplishments may have been made in management, education, research, administration, or in a combination of activities that over a lifetime have noticeably advanced the field of wildlife biology and management and enhanced wildlife conservation in Arizona. This award is intended to be highly prestigious and not given out annually, but rather only when a deserving individual should be recognized for a lifetime of service to wildlife in Arizona.
Comments are closed.