Page 1

Job Opportunity: Coconino National Forest – Wildlife and Wilderness Specialist Resource Assistant

Start/End Date: April 19, 2021 – October 15, 2021 (anticipated)

Stipend: $450/week

Term: 26 weeks

Reports To: Victoria Allen (Assistant Recreation Team Lead for Flagstaff District, USFS)

Location: USFS Flagstaff Ranger Station (5075 N. Highway 89, Flagstaff, AZ 86004)

Position Summary:
Arizona Conservation Corps (AZCC) is partnering with the Coconino National Forest to provide a 26-week
paid professional opportunity to take place throughout the Coconino NF, focused on Wildlife
Management in Wilderness Areas, especially Kachina Peaks Wilderness. This position will conduct field
surveys, inventories, and monitoring of wildlife and wilderness resources. This position will collaborate
with multiple specialists and biologists, from multiple agencies to develop a Wilderness Wildlife
Management Plan. No housing is available for this position.


The Foundations of Wildlife Chemical Capture course is now available online!

Announcement from Dr. Mark Johnson:

Dear Colleague,

I am excited to announce that the online course, “The Foundations of Wildlife Chemical Capture” is now available to you.

This is the most current and extensive training in Wildlife Chemical Capture.

  • 12 chapters.  (click here to see a detailed course outline)
  • 150 page downloadable course notebook
  • 44 Additional Learning Activities
  • Hours of demonstration videos
  • New Drug Exposure Agency Protocols
  • Wildlife Work in COVID Times Agency Protocols
  • Certificate of Training
  • TWS approves 16 CE hours for their Professional Development Program
  • Over 60 wildlife professionals, including 14 other wildlife veterinarians have contributed content for this course
  • Zoom sessions with Dr. Mark for groups 10+.  More bonuses for groups 20+ in size.

This is an independent course you can take on your own time. You will have support from Dr. Mark Johnson throughout the course. With access for a year, it is a great “Go To” resource for your field captures and animal handling needs. For detailed information visit the Foundations Course Information Page.

Sign up for the GWR monthly newsletter for course announcements and updates.

Feel free to reach out to Dr. Mark Johnson if you have any questions:

Mark R. Johnson DVM
Global Wildlife Resources
PO Box 1025
Freeland, WA 98249
Cell: 406.570.3915
Visit our Wildlife Capture and Care Blog!
FACEBOOK for wildlife handling
Sign up for the GWR monthly newsletter!